a friendship for … forever

a friendship forever

A friendship forΒ  forever

Are words too seldom heard

That kind of steadfast loyalty

So often is averred

These days to expect permanence

Could almost seem absurd

 

And yet…

 

Here we are together

While all these years have passed

Your deep soaked type of loyalty

Is strong and so steadfast

That to your soul’s sweet light

My heart is firmly clasped

 

And so…

 

How am I to thank you

For all that you have been?

Support through my adversities

And all the in between

The kind of true, deep selflessness

This world has seldom seen

 

It seems

 

Our friendship is so rare

It’s true, a thing apart

And see I follow to your lead

The light shines where you start

But know that when you need me most

You’re safe within my heart

(c) Helen Valentina 2013, All Rights Reserved

 

p.s. This poem is dedicated to G who has been my best friend for the past 7 years and will remain so for forever. Thank you for everything. This poem is for you.

p.p.s. Thank you HelenValentina for accepting to write this lovely poem for my lovely G. You are one of my favorite poets.

23 responses to “a friendship for … forever

  1. ……is it normal to cry when ur best friend goes and gets a poet to write u ur own poem after Uve had a really hard time….I’ve never been absolutely speechless and I’m speechless…..thank u…….love u so much

  2. You are so welcome..the way you described your wonderful friendship was truly inspirational, so thank you for the opportunity to write of somehing so special! πŸ™‚

  3. This is such a beautiful poem! It really touched me `cause reading it reminded me about the wonderful times I used to have with my best friend I lost years ago. The words are perfect and real! Also the picture with the birds is beautiful and fits well with the words. Thanks for sharing your way of describing a special friendship!

  4. You all made me cry…good tears πŸ™‚ How beautiful that you had Helen write a poem for your friend who is struggling. I thought you were amazing before and now…super amazing!!! Absolutely lovely all the way around!

  5. This is SO endearing. Such a loving poem. A lasting friendship is a beautiful thing; especially since people come and go like the wind. Props to the poet as well!

Leave a Reply

