My Hero

il_fullxfull.306358016

I had never seen or heard my father cry. Then one day, he was saying something wrong and wouldn’t accept it. Our quarrel turned into a fight. I shouted at him and left. I hated him. I sat on my bed and started thinking. After some time, I went towards his room and I heard him crying. I didn’t dare to enter. I waited for some hours and then went to my mom and asked her why dad was crying. She said his heart was broken when I told him I hate him. I think my heart broke too when I heard that. You know how much a girl loves her father even when she hates him. Mom told me that Dad had asked her to pray that when I grow up my children won’t break my heart the way I broke his.

“When I was 14, my father was so ignorant I could hardly stand to have the old man around. But when I got to be 21, I was astonished at how much the old man had learned in seven years.”  M. Twain

They say a girl’s here is her lover riding a unicorn/Audi A6 but every girl knows that her real hero is her father. For all who love or miss their heroes.

21 responses to “My Hero

  1. Such a honest post. Even I had tiff with Dad and said thgs I shouldn’t in anger. Sometimes, there is love in our anger and it shows that we care. Unfortunately, couldn’t say sorry coz Dad is no more. I miss him:(
    Thanks for following me

  2. The Mark Twain quote really resonates with me. My Dad and I used to have an awful relationship but later it changed to become something so special. We live and learn, and grow and love all the more x

  3. this is a beautiful post. my father and I had a very complicated relationship – and one of my biggest regrets in life is the fact that I could not accept him for what he was and that i never got the chance to say i loved him one more time and goodbye. it’s is weird, when you are a kid, you think just like a kid. when you are a parent, you think like a parent – but do you still think like a kid – or is is vice versa? In my case, I kept thinking like a child and not as a parent – ALSO. This I should have done.

  4. Aww, this is sad but sweet at the same time, it reminded me that actually I need to think of my dad and that he is the real hero in my life. I have realised that I do say horrible stuff about my dad but he only does what he does cos he cares…..oh im gonna go give my dad a massive hug!! 🙂

  5. Pingback: Sorry taken so long to reply to Jemletts | unpure truth·

  6. Beautiful post. My dad and I have had a rough road, but you are right there is something about little girls and their daddy! My best friend lost her dad awhile back and it made me take the time to appreciate my dad even more! Thank you for this

Leave a Reply

